Sonari Glinton http://kwit.org en Toyota Pulls Over 6 Million Vehicles Worldwide http://kwit.org/post/toyota-pulls-over-6-million-vehicles-worldwide Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Another major auto recall today, this time it's Toyota. The Japanese auto giant is recalling 6.4 million vehicles worldwide for a variety of defects, including problems with seat rails and airbags. No injuries have been reported. NPR's Sonari Glinton reports this particular recall is not happening in a vacuum.<p>SONARI GLINTON, BYLINE: Less than a month ago, Toyota was hit with a $1.2 billion fine for the way it handled a recall mess from several years ago. Right now, General Motors has been embroiled in a scandal for how it handled a decade-old problem. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 42508 at http://kwit.org Just How New Is The 'New' GM? http://kwit.org/post/just-how-new-new-gm During her grilling before Congress last week, General Motors CEO Mary Barra insisted the new General Motors is different and better than the old one.<p>So as GM begins to fix nearly 2.6 million vehicles for an ignition-switch defect that has been linked to at least 13 deaths, we decided to put that claim to the test.<p>Exactly how new is the new GM?<p>NBC's <em>Saturday Night Live</em> answered with <a href="http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/video/gm-hearings-cold-open/2770788">a parody version</a> of Barra's explanation:<p>"I can't speak to how the old GM would handle an issue like this Tue, 08 Apr 2014 07:42:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 42392 at http://kwit.org Just How New Is The 'New' GM? The Long Road To GM's Ignition Switch Recall http://kwit.org/post/long-road-gms-ignition-switch-recall The new head of General Motors, Mary Barra, goes to Capitol Hill Tuesday to begin two days of testimony.<p>It's the first time she'll be questioned about a safety defect that's been linked to at least 13 deaths and has sparked a 2.6 million-vehicle recall.<p>At issue for the Detroit CEO is a classic question: What did GM know about the problems with ignition switch problems in its cars, and when did the company know it?<p>And just as important for GM and government regulators is the follow-up question: Why did no one act sooner?<p>In the recent history of General Motors, there's one car that s Mon, 31 Mar 2014 21:55:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 41978 at http://kwit.org The Long Road To GM's Ignition Switch Recall As Carmakers Turn Up The Recalls, Consumers Tune Out http://kwit.org/post/carmakers-turn-recalls-consumers-tune-out In the past week, Volkswagen recalled 150,000 Passats because of potential hood problems that could damage the headlights, and Honda recalled 900,000 Odyssey vans because of a potential fire hazard.<p>Those moves follow the recent General Motors recall of 1.6 million vehicles over a faulty ignition switch, which has been linked to 12 deaths. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 41396 at http://kwit.org As Carmakers Turn Up The Recalls, Consumers Tune Out Toyota's $1.2B Settlement Puts Criminal Probe To Rest http://kwit.org/post/toyotas-12b-settlement-puts-criminal-probe-rest Toyota will pay $1.2 billion to end a federal criminal probe into a vehicle recall. Federal regulators said five people died in accidents related to unintended acceleration prior to the recall. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:31:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 41258 at http://kwit.org Ignition Switch Recall Straddles Old And New GM http://kwit.org/post/ignition-switch-recall-straddles-old-and-new-gm General Motors is at the center of several investigations involving last month's recall of 1.6 million vehicles with faulty ignition switches. The recall comes at a pivotal time for the company. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 40941 at http://kwit.org Delayed Safety Recall May Haunt General Motors http://kwit.org/post/delayed-safety-recall-may-haunt-general-motors Both houses of Congress are set to investigate, and the Justice Department is reportedly looking into why it took GM so long to inform the public. GM may have known about the problem for a decade. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 10:04:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 40789 at http://kwit.org Delayed Safety Recall May Haunt GM As It Continues Its Makeover http://kwit.org/post/delayed-safety-recall-may-haunt-gm-it-continues-its-makeover General Motors is coming under mounting criticism for its handling of a serious defect. Last month, the company recalled 1.6 million vehicles because of faulty ignition switches linked to 13 deaths. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 21:39:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 40767 at http://kwit.org Delayed Safety Recall May Haunt GM As It Continues Its Makeover What Pepsi Can Teach Us About Soft (Drink) Power In Russia http://kwit.org/post/what-pepsi-can-teach-us-about-soft-drink-power-russia The United States has threatened economic sanctions against Moscow, but America is light on financial leverage in Russia: The country represents less than 1 percent of U.S. trade, and few major U.S. companies have significant investments there.<p>But one company with a long history in Russia is Pepsi.<p>So how did the American soft drink giant get its foot in the door to build a major market in Russia?<p>This story of how Pepsi came to be sold widely in Russia could give us some insight into how the two counties do or don't do business with each other. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 21:50:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 40697 at http://kwit.org What Pepsi Can Teach Us About Soft (Drink) Power In Russia Winter Olympic Closing Ceremony Held In Sochi http://kwit.org/post/winter-olympic-closing-ceremony-held-sochi Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Russia put on a spectacular closing show for the Winter Olympic Games in Sochi last night, with fireworks, Russian music and dance, and a thousand children singing Russia's national anthem. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 10:11:00 +0000 Sonari Glinton 39835 at http://kwit.org