Tamara Keith http://kwit.org en A Mother's Essay Challenges Assumptions About Poverty http://kwit.org/post/mothers-essay-challenges-assumptions-about-poverty The stereotype of the so-called welfare queen driving a luxury car while leaching off of society is an enduring one.<p>Darlena Cunha takes on this idea <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2014/07/08/this-is-what-happened-when-i-drove-my-mercedes-to-pick-up-food-stamps/">in a personal essay</a> published Tuesday by <em>The Washington Post</em>. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 14:56:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 48262 at http://kwit.org A Mother's Essay Challenges Assumptions About Poverty What Could $100 Million Buy You — Besides Campaign Ads In Kentucky? http://kwit.org/post/what-can-100-million-buy-you-besides-election-kentucky For the amount of money that's expected to be spent in the Kentucky race for U.S. Senate this year, you could buy a bottle of the state's own Maker's Mark whiskey for nearly every man, woman and child in the state.<p>Some observers say the election could end up as the most expensive Senate race in history, with spending topping $100 million. And why wouldn't it be? It's at the heart of the battle for control of the U.S. Senate.<p>The incumbent, Mitch McConnell, is the top Republican in the Senate and could become majority leader. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 11:38:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 48245 at http://kwit.org What Could $100 Million Buy You — Besides Campaign Ads In Kentucky? Obama Gets Real, Meeting The Authors Behind White House Letters http://kwit.org/post/obama-gets-real-meeting-authors-behind-white-house-letters When President Obama delivered a speech about the economy in Minneapolis on Friday, a woman named Rebekah Erler sat in the audience with her family.<p>The White House billed the president's two-day trip to Minnesota as at least in part a "<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0x4aSM5yM4">day in the life of Rebekah</a>" — and it's a throwback, in a sense, to a time before Barack Obama was a household name.<p>In 2007, when his candidacy was still considered a long shot, then-Sen. Obama spent a day walking in the shoes of a home health aide.<p>"I'm Pauline Beck. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 47362 at http://kwit.org Obama Gets Real, Meeting The Authors Behind White House Letters Democrats Hope For Work-Life Balance To Act As Lever In Midterms http://kwit.org/post/democrats-hope-work-life-balance-act-lever-midterms The Obama administration held the first-ever White House Summit on Working Families on Monday. Keeping the focus on topics like paid leave, equal pay and workplace flexibility is seen by Democrats as a winning strategy in the midterm elections. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 47064 at http://kwit.org Administration Focuses On Challenges Working Families Face http://kwit.org/post/administration-focuses-challenges-working-families-face Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Now, a big part of President Obama's two national campaign victories was a promise to help working families. His critics complain that all these years later, he's still talking about some of the very same policy prescriptions with little to show for it. Today, ideas like paid sick and maternity leave and universal preschool will take center stage at the White House Summit on Working Families, so will the challenges faced by workers caring for their children and sometimes their parents. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 10:23:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 47031 at http://kwit.org Political Solution Needed In Iraq, Obama Says http://kwit.org/post/political-solution-needed-iraq-obama-says President Obama is sending up to 300 military advisers to Iraq to gather intelligence on the insurgency. He was adamant there will be no American combat operations on the ground in Iraq. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 10:20:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 46885 at http://kwit.org Obama Plans To Send Advisers To Iraq, Leaving Air Strikes On Table http://kwit.org/post/obama-plans-send-advisers-iraq-leaving-air-strikes-table Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. President Obama announced today that the U.S. will send up to 300 special forces advisers into Iraq. He says they'll gather intelligence and assist Iraqi security forces. This comes as radical Islamists continue to march toward Baghdad. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 46843 at http://kwit.org Upset Of Eric Cantor Deals A Shock To GOP Establishment http://kwit.org/post/upset-eric-cantor-deals-shock-gop-establishment Eric Cantor became the first house majority leader ever to lose a primary, losing the GOP nomination to Tea Party challenger David Brat in the Republican primary. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 01:26:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 46278 at http://kwit.org Despite Initial Doubts, Wisconsin's Second-In-Command Soars http://kwit.org/post/despite-initial-doubts-wisconsins-second-command-soars Few people expected it, but Wisconsin Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch is now a rising GOP star. The mother of two is a former TV news anchor and a cancer survivor, who left the hospital just in time to vote in her own primary. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 46264 at http://kwit.org What Happened To Unemployment Benefits? http://kwit.org/post/what-happened-unemployment-benefits Five months have passed since the expiration of the emergency unemployment benefits program for the long-term unemployed. Amid congressional delays, it's unclear whether those benefits ever will be extended. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 46072 at http://kwit.org