Emily Harris http://kwit.org en Israel's Ultra-Orthodox Put Faith In Unorthodox Dating Service http://kwit.org/post/israels-ultra-orthodox-put-faith-unorthodox-dating-service Yael Mizrachi, a 33-year-old Israeli woman, has been to many matchmakers.<p>"Too many," she says, rolling her wide dark eyes and tossing her shoulder-length hair.<p>Matchmakers are the traditional way to find a mate in the ultra-Orthodox Jewish community to which Mizrachi belongs. But she is not entirely traditional.<p>"I identify myself as a modern ultra-Orthodox," Mizrachi says.<p>Mizrachi is part of a growing number of ultra-Orthodox Jews in Israel who are seeking job skills, getting higher education or joining the military. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:16:00 +0000 Emily Harris 42939 at http://kwit.org Israel's Ultra-Orthodox Put Faith In Unorthodox Dating Service Two Israeli Settlers Speak Of Life — And Plans — On Disputed Land http://kwit.org/post/two-israeli-settlers-speak-life-and-plans-disputed-land From the Palestinian perspective, a big obstacle to peace is the presence of 350,000 Israelis on land expected to be part of any future Palestinian state. Two of those settlers offer their viewpoints. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Emily Harris 42173 at http://kwit.org Stay Or Go: How Israeli-Palestinian Peace Would Redefine Home http://kwit.org/post/stay-or-go-how-israeli-palestinian-peace-would-redefine-home More than 1 million Arabs are citizens of Israel. And over the years, some 350,000 Jewish Israelis have moved to settlements in the West Bank. If the Israelis and Palestinians were to make peace and set a formal border, what would happen to all these people?<p>The vast majority of Arab Israelis are Palestinian. Most belong to families that either stayed in their homes during the war following Israel's 1948 declaration of independence or fled to areas that wound up on the western, or Israeli side, of the cease-fire line. They hold Israeli passports and enjoy the rights of citizenship. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 19:09:00 +0000 Emily Harris 42159 at http://kwit.org Stay Or Go: How Israeli-Palestinian Peace Would Redefine Home Israeli Prisoner Release Steps Toward Peace And Draws Controversy http://kwit.org/post/israeli-prisoner-release-steps-toward-peace-and-draws-controversy Israel is preparing a prisoner release as part of the peace process with Palestinians. Arab citizens of Israel are set to be let go, a move more controversial than releasing non-citizen Palestinians. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Emily Harris 41756 at http://kwit.org In A 'Brilliant' Move, Hamas Puts A Woman Out Front http://kwit.org/post/brilliant-move-hamas-puts-woman-out-front Isra al-Modallal is the first woman to be the public face of Hamas, the conservative group that rules the Palestinian territory. "Brilliant" is how one Gaza observer describes the decision. Sat, 22 Mar 2014 11:50:00 +0000 Emily Harris 41430 at http://kwit.org Political Split In Ukraine Divides Families http://kwit.org/post/political-split-ukraine-divides-families One couple has survived many political changes over their 47-year marriage, but the current political crisis in Ukraine is dividing them too. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Emily Harris 40848 at http://kwit.org U.S. Still Exploring Diplomatic Ways To End Crimea Standoff http://kwit.org/post/us-still-exploring-diplomatic-ways-end-crimea-standoff Ukraine's prime minister travels to Washington this week for talks with President Obama. On Sunday, leaders of Germany and Great Britain spent time on the phone with Russian President Vladimir Putin. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Emily Harris 40646 at http://kwit.org Russian Troops Continue Movements In Crimea http://kwit.org/post/russian-troops-continue-movements-crimea As the standoff continues in Crimea, Russia warns the U.S. against "hasty" sanctions. Ukraine officials accuse pro-Russian forces of armed aggression. Sun, 09 Mar 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Emily Harris 40614 at http://kwit.org Locals Join Crimean Defense Forces, Allied With Russia http://kwit.org/post/locals-join-crimean-defense-forces-allied-russia In Ukraine, tensions are high in the Crimean Peninsula. NPR's Emily Harris reports on the swearing in of new members to the Crimean defense force. Sat, 08 Mar 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Emily Harris 40602 at http://kwit.org With Little Money And Lots Of Verve, Kiev Reporter Fights Corruption http://kwit.org/post/little-money-and-lots-verve-kiev-reporter-fights-corruption Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Secretary of State John Kerry made a high profile visit to Kiev today, showing political support for Ukraine's new government. He promised a billion dollars in loan guarantees. With lesser due, a team from the International Monetary Fund arrived. They're there to assess the state of Ukraine's finances.<p>Well, chief among the country's many economic difficulties is the problem of rampant corruption. An investigative journalist is now set to lead Ukraine's new anti-corruption agency. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Emily Harris 40359 at http://kwit.org