Joe Palca http://kwit.org en The Scientist Who Makes Stars On Earth http://kwit.org/post/scientist-who-makes-stars-earth Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>On the outskirts of Albuquerque, New Mexico, scientists are doing something astonishing. They're creating a white dwarf star - not a whole star but enough of one to study in minute detail. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 00:50:00 +0000 Joe Palca 40502 at http://kwit.org To Clean Drinking Water, All You Need Is A Stick http://kwit.org/post/clean-drinking-water-all-you-need-stick Removing all the dangerous bacteria from drinking water would have enormous health benefits for people around the world.<p>The technologies exist for doing that, but there's a problem: cost.<p>Now a scientist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology thinks he's on to a much less expensive way to clean up water.<p>MIT's <a href="http://meche.mit.edu/people/?id=279">Rohit Karnik</a> is a mechanical engineer who works on water technologies. He says it's relatively easy to make membranes that can filter the bacteria out of water. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Joe Palca 40418 at http://kwit.org To Clean Drinking Water, All You Need Is A Stick Inexpensive Aquarium Bubbler Saves Preemies' Lives http://kwit.org/post/inexpensive-aquarium-bubbler-saves-preemies-lives <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0rGMRdZiOY</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 19:33:00 +0000 Joe Palca 38608 at http://kwit.org Inexpensive Aquarium Bubbler Saves Preemies' Lives Scientists Come Close To Finding True Magnetic Monopole http://kwit.org/post/scientists-come-close-finding-true-magnetic-monopole Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Scientists may have filled in a gap in one the fundamental theories of physics. We've always been told that magnets have two poles, north and south. But theory suggests there should be something called a magnetic monopole, a magnet that has either a north pole or a south pole but not both of them. So far no one has found this elusive magnetic monopole.<p>As part of his project, Joe's Big Idea, NPR's Joe Palca brings us the story of scientists at Amherst College in Massachusetts. They have created a synthetic magnetic monopole. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 10:04:00 +0000 Joe Palca 38437 at http://kwit.org Saving Babies' Lives Starts With Aquarium Pumps And Ingenuity http://kwit.org/post/saving-babies-lives-starts-aquarium-pumps-and-ingenuity <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0rGMRdZiOY</p> Sat, 04 Jan 2014 13:52:00 +0000 Joe Palca 36874 at http://kwit.org Saving Babies' Lives Starts With Aquarium Pumps And Ingenuity To Make Intersections Smarter, We Need Cars To Be Smarter, Too http://kwit.org/post/make-intersections-smarter-we-need-cars-be-smarter-too Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>Car companies have already begun to design cars that can drive themselves. But to make these smart cars really useful, they'll also need smart roads. As part of his series, "Joe's Big Idea," NPR science correspondent Joe Palca has this story about some computer scientists who were designing a smart traffic intersection. How smart? Fri, 27 Dec 2013 21:21:00 +0000 Joe Palca 36469 at http://kwit.org Space Station Gets Fixed In Christmas Eve Space Walk http://kwit.org/post/astronauts-complete-space-walk-fix-space-station Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>Flying above the Earth today other Christmas Eve mission, surfing the globe of thousands of miles an hour, were two astronauts. In a spacewalk today, they replaced a pump that is crucial for normal operations aboard the International Space Station.<p>NPR's Joe Palca has more.<p>JOE PALCA, BYLINE: The pump circulates ammonia coolant around the station in one of two independent cooling systems. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 21:35:00 +0000 Joe Palca 36319 at http://kwit.org 'The Coolest Thing Ever': How A Robotic Arm Changed 4 Lives http://kwit.org/post/coolest-thing-ever-how-robotic-arm-changed-4-lives <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1jbEvhFzQM</p> Thu, 28 Nov 2013 08:05:00 +0000 Joe Palca 34776 at http://kwit.org 'The Coolest Thing Ever': How A Robotic Arm Changed 4 Lives How Pictures Of Infant Boy's Eyes Helped Diagnose Cancer http://kwit.org/post/how-pictures-infant-boys-eyes-helped-diagnose-cancer Bryan Shaw never expected to write a research paper about a rare eye cancer.<p>He's a <a href="http://www.baylor.edu/chemistry/index.php?id=75907">chemist</a> who works on how <a href="http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24066782">metals and proteins interact</a>. But life has a funny way of interrupting the best-laid plans, and now Shaw may be on to a powerful new way to detect <a href="http://www.nei.nih.gov/health/retinoblastoma/blastoma.asp">retinoblastoma</a> in newborns. Wed, 06 Nov 2013 15:48:00 +0000 Joe Palca 33459 at http://kwit.org How Pictures Of Infant Boy's Eyes Helped Diagnose Cancer Jupiter Or Bust, But First A Quick Fly-By Of Home http://kwit.org/post/jupiter-or-bust-first-quick-fly-home After traveling for more than two years and some 1 billion miles, NASA's Juno mission to Jupiter is back where it started. Almost. At 3:21 p.m. ET Wednesday, the Juno space probe will be 347 miles away from Earth, just above the southern tip of Africa.<p>(As an aside, at around 11:30 a.m. ET, it was more than 90,000 miles away.)<p>It's not that Juno got homesick — the return to Earth was a necessity. To send it on a direct path to Jupiter would have required a more powerful rocket than the United Launch Alliance Atlas V-551. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joe Palca 31766 at http://kwit.org Jupiter Or Bust, But First A Quick Fly-By Of Home