Tom Moon http://kwit.org en Album Review: 'Morning Phase' http://kwit.org/post/album-review-morning-phase Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>The singer and songwriter Beck is considered one of the most innovative artists of his generation. This week, he released "Morning Phase," his first new album in six years. Critic Tom Moon says the new record returns back to the brooding pop of 2002's "Sea Change," which many consider his best work.<p>TOM MOON: We hear it constantly. Everything in this on-demand culture seems to be moving fast and getting faster. Here's an exception: The new songs from noted contrarian Beck. They're slow. Deliciously, magnificently slow. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Tom Moon 39949 at http://kwit.org Album Review: 'Sun Structures,' By Temples http://kwit.org/post/album-review-sun-structures-temples Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Finally this hour, a new perspective on the enduring influence of The Beatles. It comes from another four-piece British rock band called Temples. The group is from the town of Kettering. Critics have been raving about them since last summer. Their debut album, "Sun Structures," has now been released here in the U.S. And hearing it might whisk you away to 1960s Liverpool. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 22:24:00 +0000 Tom Moon 39178 at http://kwit.org When Donny Hathaway, Thelonious Monk And Neil Young Hit A Turning Point http://kwit.org/post/when-donny-hathaway-thelonious-monk-and-neil-young-hit-turning-point <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zP14N9ZQcE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kROre63J0Lw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAQhtkWB0RU</p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 21:35:00 +0000 Tom Moon 35674 at http://kwit.org When Donny Hathaway, Thelonious Monk And Neil Young Hit A Turning Point Pop's Resident Provocateur Fizzles On 'ARTPOP' http://kwit.org/post/pops-resident-provocateur-fizzles-artpop <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nP3ctBs3510</p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 20:14:00 +0000 Tom Moon 33751 at http://kwit.org Pop's Resident Provocateur Fizzles On 'ARTPOP' Tom Odell: A Polarizing New Voice Shows Promise http://kwit.org/post/tom-odell-polarizing-new-voice-shows-promise <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rgHYP0dD_4</p> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 20:33:00 +0000 Tom Moon 30441 at http://kwit.org Tom Odell: A Polarizing New Voice Shows Promise Pat Metheny And John Zorn: A Vivid Sound World http://kwit.org/post/pat-metheny-and-john-zorn-vivid-sound-world Guitarist <a href="http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CCwQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.npr.org%2Fartists%2F15124280%2Fpat-metheny&ei=-tebUbSCINf-4APLkICAAQ&usg=AFQjCNHXjWctRNt3bG2V1msmN_686O3S0w&sig2=PZZXJTdrbtVPfD-eaYgRRw&bvm=bv.46751780,d.dmg" target="_blank">Pat Metheny</a> is revered for his bright, accessible modern jazz. Saxophonist and composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15510102/john-zorn">John Zorn</a> is associated with much knottier, often dissonant experiments. Metheny's new <em>Tap: John Zorn's Book of Angels, Vol. Tue, 21 May 2013 20:55:00 +0000 Tom Moon 24529 at http://kwit.org Pat Metheny And John Zorn: A Vivid Sound World Dawes' Story Gets A Fine New Chapter http://kwit.org/post/dawes-story-gets-fine-new-chapter <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH8Jjz6PRYk</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 20:38:00 +0000 Tom Moon 23182 at http://kwit.org Dawes' Story Gets A Fine New Chapter Atoms For Peace: Thom Yorke's Electronic Shadow-World http://kwit.org/post/atoms-peace-thom-yorkes-electronic-shadow-world When singer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15182392/thom-yorke">Thom Yorke</a> stepped away from his influential rock band <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15152697/radiohead">Radiohead</a> in 2006 to release <em>The Eraser</em>, many thought the quirky electronic project was a one-off. Not so, it turns out. Yorke and producer Nigel Godrich called on rock-star friends for a tour, and since then, the group has convened occasionally in the studio. Thu, 28 Feb 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Tom Moon 20954 at http://kwit.org Atoms For Peace: Thom Yorke's Electronic Shadow-World Jim James: On A Spiritual Quest In The Digital Age http://kwit.org/post/jim-james-spiritual-quest-digital-age <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zsvTfaAAVBg</p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 21:20:00 +0000 Tom Moon 20294 at http://kwit.org Jim James: On A Spiritual Quest In The Digital Age Is Fleetwood Mac's Expanded 'Rumours' A Bit Much? http://kwit.org/post/fleetwood-macs-expanded-rumours-bit-much <em>An expanded version of </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/102442872/fleetwood-mac" target="_blank">Fleetwood Mac</a><em>'s 1977 album </em>Rumours<em> comes out this week, to mark the 35th anniversary of one of the top-selling albums of the '70s. The deluxe set includes demos, outtakes from the recording sessions, live recordings and a documentary DVD, along with a vinyl pressing of the original album. </em><p>The original 11 songs of the pop-rock classic <em>Rumours</em> can be experienced easily in one sitting. Apparently, that's just not enough anymore. Mon, 04 Feb 2013 21:46:00 +0000 Tom Moon 19874 at http://kwit.org Is Fleetwood Mac's Expanded 'Rumours' A Bit Much?