Blake Farmer http://kwit.org en Remembering Ray Price, Voice Of The Nashville Sound http://kwit.org/post/country-hit-maker-ray-price-dies-87 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s1ZKIX0ICZo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1qqbc17ay8</p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:59:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 35853 at http://kwit.org Remembering Ray Price, Voice Of The Nashville Sound Country Music Legend Ray Price Dies At 87 http://kwit.org/post/country-music-legend-ray-price-dies-87 Country music singer and songwriter Ray Price died Monday at the age of 87 at his ranch in Texas. Price was a Grammy Award Winner and who had more than 100 country hits in his decades-long career. A 1996 Country Music Hall of Fame inductee, he was credited with pioneering a shuffle beat and walking bass line that became standard in Texas dance halls. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 01:06:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 35836 at http://kwit.org Volkswagen Union Opposed By Tennessee Republican Officials http://kwit.org/post/volkswagen-union-opposed-tennessee-republican-officials When it comes to union organizing at an auto plant, the tension is typically between the workers and the management. But not at Volkswagen in Tennessee. There, the United Auto Workers is attempting to finally unionize the automaker's first foreign-owned plant in the South. And so far, Republican officials are the ones trying to stand in the way.<p>Just outside Chattanooga, in an idyllic industrial park, surrounded by green hills and even a nature park, Volkswagen built a plant a few years ago. It is still Volkswagen's only car plant in the U.S. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 21:07:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 32480 at http://kwit.org Volkswagen Union Opposed By Tennessee Republican Officials Modern Hymn Writers Aim To Take Back Sunday http://kwit.org/post/modern-hymn-writers-aim-take-back-sunday <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZuIyrwSqHY</p> Mon, 08 Jul 2013 19:28:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 26745 at http://kwit.org Modern Hymn Writers Aim To Take Back Sunday Women In Combat Ban To Be Lifted http://kwit.org/post/women-combat-ban-be-lifted Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>On a momentous Thursday, it's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>We're expecting Defense Secretary Leon Panetta to make an announcement today. From now on, women will formally be allowed to serve in ground combat.<p>INSKEEP: To sense just how dramatic this change is, consider how many other milestones the military passed before reaching this one. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 11:44:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 19395 at http://kwit.org Army Aims To Use Words, Not Weapons, With Afghans http://kwit.org/post/army-aims-use-words-not-weapons-afghans The U.S. Army has been ramping up instruction in the languages of Afghanistan, even as troop levels in the country decrease in preparation for the U.S. troop withdrawal in 2014.<p>This year, key installations have added several hundred speakers of Pashto and Dari to their ranks, more than doubling the number of soldiers trained in the Afghan languages.<p>But it's not just the country's languages that are foreign to U.S. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 22:26:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 13819 at http://kwit.org Army Aims To Use Words, Not Weapons, With Afghans As Bear Population Grows, More States Look At Hunts http://kwit.org/post/bear-population-grows-more-states-look-hunts <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBCNJx-xi-8</p> Mon, 20 Feb 2012 05:01:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 3786 at http://kwit.org As Bear Population Grows, More States Look At Hunts