Mandalit del Barco http://kwit.org en Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://kwit.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 43005 at http://kwit.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies In 'Cesar Chavez,' A Reluctant Hero Fights For 'La Causa' http://kwit.org/post/new-movie-cesar-chavez-spotlights-chicano-movement-organizer Cesar Chavez, the late farmworker advocate and union activist, remains one of the most well-known Latino leaders. He inspired the Chicano movement in the 1960s and '70s, and is depicted in countless murals throughout the West.<p>There are schools, streets and libraries named after him. There's a movement to make his birthday, March 31, a national day of service. And now, Chavez is being celebrated in a new feature film that opens Friday.<p>The movie, which bears the activist's name, focuses on the 1960s, when Chavez started the United Farm Workers union. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 08:58:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 41790 at http://kwit.org In 'Cesar Chavez,' A Reluctant Hero Fights For 'La Causa' Sony Pictures To Lay Off Interactive Group http://kwit.org/post/sony-pictures-lay-interactive-group Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with Hollywood layoffs.<p>Sony has notified California's Labor Board that come June it will lay off more than 200 employees at its movie and television studios.<p>NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports this is happening in a film industry that's facing across the board cost cutting.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO, BYLINE: Sony Pictures Entertainment will reportedly lay off its entire interactive marketing team responsible for online movie promos like this.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE PROMO)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Officials searching for answers as to wh Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 41212 at http://kwit.org New Academy President Pushes For More Diverse Voting Members http://kwit.org/post/new-academy-president-pushes-more-diverse-voting-members For the first time, this year's best director Oscar could go to a Mexican (Alfonso Cuaron, for <em>Gravity</em>) or a black Brit (Steve McQueen, for <em>12 Years a Slave</em>). That film's lead actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor, is also in the running for an award; so is his Kenyan co-star Lupita Nyong'o, who was born in Mexico. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:59:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 40102 at http://kwit.org New Academy President Pushes For More Diverse Voting Members Alice Herz-Sommer, Pianist And Holocaust Survivor, Dies At 110 http://kwit.org/post/alice-herz-sommer-pianist-and-holocaust-survivor-dies-110 Renowned concert pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, once thought to be the oldest living Holocaust survivor, has died at age 110. Her story is told in the Oscar-nominated film, The Lady in Number 6. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 39880 at http://kwit.org DirecTV: Customers Balked At Weather Channel's Reality Shows http://kwit.org/post/directv-customers-balked-weather-channels-realtiy-shows Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>This next story began as pretty much your standard contract dispute. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 09:51:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 37626 at http://kwit.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam http://kwit.org/post/sunday-assembly-church-godless-picks-steam It sometimes <em>feels</em> like church in the auditorium of the Professional Musicians union in Hollywood. It's a Sunday morning, and hundreds of people are gathered to meditate, sing and listen to inspirational poetry and stories.<p>But then the live band starts up — performing songs by the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36987 at http://kwit.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam Fielder Offers Absurd Marketing Advice On Comedy Central http://kwit.org/post/fielding-offers-absurd-marketing-advice-comedy-central Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Let's hear now about a new reality show featuring a mild-mannered Canadian who gives outlandish advice to companies looking to up their game. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 10:37:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36737 at http://kwit.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies http://kwit.org/post/drummer-chico-hamilton-west-coast-jazz-mainstay-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNaSZmKL65I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXULG-UKVq8</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:29:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 34690 at http://kwit.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen http://kwit.org/post/ak-47s-accordions-and-angels-death-narcocorridos-hit-big-screen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaJ_hru9Qk4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNhQxWXkcw</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 34623 at http://kwit.org AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen