Anthony Kuhn http://kwit.org en Human Error Compounds Grief Over Korean Ferry Disaster http://kwit.org/post/human-error-compounds-grief-over-korean-ferry-disaster More than 200 people remain missing after the ferry capsized last week. One family was told their daughter was dead instead of missing. It turns out authorities had confused her for another girl. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 09:12:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 43166 at http://kwit.org S. Korean Community Waits And Prays For Its Missing Students http://kwit.org/post/s-korean-community-waits-prays-its-missing-students Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Rachel Martin. For the first time since a ferry capsized and sank off the coast of South Korea Wednesday, divers have begun to recover bodies from inside the sunken vessel. The death toll has passed 50 with more than 250 still missing. Most of the passengers were students from a single high school outside the capital city. NPR's Anthony Kuhn reports on the community and how they're coping.<p>ANTHONY KUHN, BYLINE: Tears are wiped and shoulders are padded at the Dream Church. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 43129 at http://kwit.org Search Continues For Nearly 300 Missing In South Korea Ferry Accident http://kwit.org/post/search-continues-nearly-300-missing-south-korea-ferry-accident The search continues for survivors and answers in the South Korean ferry disaster. NPR's Anthony Kuhn offers details on the latest developments. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 42986 at http://kwit.org Google Trains Its Lenses On Cambodia's Ancient Temples http://kwit.org/post/google-trains-its-lenses-cambodias-ancient-temples <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqgriEb99nA</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 10:31:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 42479 at http://kwit.org Google Trains Its Lenses On Cambodia's Ancient Temples Anger Boils Over For Families Of Flight 370 Passengers http://kwit.org/post/anger-boils-over-families-flight-370-passengers Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish. It's not often that an airline accident triggers street protests, but that's exactly what happened in the Chinese capital this week. On Monday, Malaysia announced that the flight, MH370, was lost at sea with no survivors. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 41816 at http://kwit.org Panda Diplomacy: Michelle Obama Concludes Visit To China http://kwit.org/post/panda-diplomacy-michelle-obama-concludes-visit-china The trip represented a sort of diplomatic change of pace from the usual issues of cyber espionage, trade spats and geopolitical competition that grab U.S.-China-related headlines. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 09:14:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 41713 at http://kwit.org News Of Flight 370's Suspected End Is Met With Relatives' Despair http://kwit.org/post/news-flight-370s-suspected-end-met-relatives-despair Malaysia's prime minister concluded that Malaysian Airlines Flight 370 "ended in the southern Indian Ocean," setting off howls of grief and anger among passengers' families. The search continues for debris that would confirm the flight crashed. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 20:33:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 41551 at http://kwit.org Malaysian Prime Minister Announces Airliner Went Down http://kwit.org/post/malaysian-prime-minister-announces-airliner-went-down Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. We have breaking news this morning on the status of the missing Malaysian Airlines Flight 307. Earlier this hour Malaysia's prime minister announced that the government there now believes the plane is lost.<p>PRIME MINISTER NAJIB RAZAK: It's therefore, with deep sadness and regret, that I must inform you that Flight MH370 ended in the southern Indian Ocean.<p>INSKEEP: Ended up in the ocean, according to Prime Minister Najib Razak. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 16:25:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 41530 at http://kwit.org For Flight 370 Families, Every Day Is 'Torment' http://kwit.org/post/flight-370-families-every-day-torment Family members of the passengers aboard Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 have grown increasingly frustrated in the nearly two weeks since the flight disappeared. Despite the efforts of airline and government officials, many relatives are angry about the lack of information. Some have even threatened to hunger strike in protest against the lack of information.<p>For many family members gathered at a Beijing hotel, the glare of media attention can be harsh. One minute, they are swatting away intrusive reporters who stick cameras and microphones in their tear-streaked faces. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 41345 at http://kwit.org For Flight 370 Families, Every Day Is 'Torment' Politics And Power Complicate The Airliner Search http://kwit.org/post/politics-and-power-complicate-airliner-search Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. We begin this hour with the politics of a vanishing airliner. The search for Malaysian Airlines Flight 370 now covers well over 2 million square miles. Twenty-six countries are still involved, 10 days after the plane's disappearance. In a few moments, we'll hear from the U.S. Navy about their efforts.<p>CORNISH: Meantime, China's ambassador to Malaysia says background checks of Chinese passengers on the plane turn up no links to terrorism. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 20:03:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 41187 at http://kwit.org