Robert Christgau http://kwit.org en Album Review: 'English Oceans,' By Drive-By Truckers http://kwit.org/post/album-review-english-oceans-drive-truckers Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The band Drive-By Truckers are in their third decade playing alternative country music tinged with Southern pride. Critic Robert Christgau says they put out a great album in 2008 then hit a lull. But he says their latest album, out this week, is a true comeback.<p>ROBERT CHRISTGAU, BYLINE: I confess I had no idea what the title song of the Drive-By Truckers' "English Oceans" was about until I read the press kit. Oh, it's Mike Cooley's poetic take on how Republican operative Lee Atwater imagined the male, white, Southern psyche. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 00:50:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 40501 at http://kwit.org Aesop Rock And Kimya Dawson Showcase Their Strengths http://kwit.org/post/aesop-rock-and-kimya-dawson-showcase-their-strengths <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Q_7fT-vSXU</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 20:24:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 24467 at http://kwit.org Aesop Rock And Kimya Dawson Showcase Their Strengths Marc Ribot Isn't Trying To Comfort Anyone http://kwit.org/post/marc-ribot-isnt-trying-comfort-anyone After six years as a sideman for many soul veterans, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/17083894/marc-ribot">Marc Ribot</a> made his name in 1985 with <em>Rain Dogs</em>, the album that marked <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15295750/tom-waits">Tom Waits</a>' permanent transition from eccentric singer-songwriter to truly weird singer-songwriter. Ribot has held down straight gigs since then, but his work has tended toward the avant-garde. Tue, 30 Apr 2013 19:52:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 23558 at http://kwit.org Marc Ribot Isn't Trying To Comfort Anyone Jonny Fritz: A Country Jester Gets Personal http://kwit.org/post/jonny-fritz-country-jester-gets-personal <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2_RIg0vZPQ</p> Fri, 26 Apr 2013 00:16:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 23376 at http://kwit.org Jonny Fritz: A Country Jester Gets Personal Big K.R.I.T.: Big Heart, Thick Drawl http://kwit.org/post/big-krit-big-heart-thick-drawl <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/137107219/big-k-r-i-t">Big K.R.I.T.</a> will turn 26 in August and seems halfway to stardom. His Def Jam debut, <em>Live from the Underground</em>, will feature a <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15402961/b-b-king">B.B. King</a> cameo and is scheduled for a June 5 release. It should hit the charts high.<p>Although he's never had an official album, he's been releasing free mixtapes regularly since 2005. His 2010 <em>K.R.I.T. Wuz Here</em> won him a contract with Def Jam. 2011's <em>Return of 4Eva</em> made many top 10 lists. Fri, 25 May 2012 20:29:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 8571 at http://kwit.org Big K.R.I.T.: Big Heart, Thick Drawl By This 'Beak And Claw,' A Trio Shall Synthesize http://kwit.org/post/beak-and-claw-trio-shall-synthesize <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15121560/sufjan-stevens">Sufjan Stevens</a> is a classically trained singer-songwriter whose recent work has leaned symphonic. <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/92313933/son-lux">Son Lux</a> is a classically trained beatmaker whose solo albums do indeed evoke luxury. Serengeti is a self-trained rapper who creates voices for a panoply of full-fledged characters who range from scufflers to yuppies. Wed, 23 May 2012 20:30:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 8466 at http://kwit.org By This 'Beak And Claw,' A Trio Shall Synthesize