Tanya Ballard Brown http://kwit.org en The Origin (And Hot Stank) Of The 'Chitlin' Circuit' http://kwit.org/post/origin-and-hot-stank-chitlin-circuit For many people, <a href="http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/chitterlings">chitlins (or chitterlings)</a> are a tasty (or, for some, nasty) soul food dish made out of pig intestines. If you can get past what they are (or how badly they stank when cleaned and cooked), then you can shake some hot sauce or sprinkle some cha-cha relish on top and dig in. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 00:03:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 39422 at http://kwit.org The Origin (And Hot Stank) Of The 'Chitlin' Circuit' Hey Hey Hey! Historian Draws Attention To '70s Black Animation Art http://kwit.org/post/hey-hey-hey-historian-draws-attention-70s-black-animation-art <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B-WHnn_BPms</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiWEyUMm5Lo</p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 12:57:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 36287 at http://kwit.org Hey Hey Hey! Historian Draws Attention To '70s Black Animation Art Dear Internet, It's Christmas. Please Stop Fighting About 'Love Actually' http://kwit.org/post/dear-internet-its-christmas-please-stop-fighting-about-love-actually <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUm2K6eDuMU</p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 21:04:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown & Beth Novey 36114 at http://kwit.org Dear Internet, It's Christmas. Please Stop Fighting About 'Love Actually' The Case For — And Against — Loving 'Love Actually' http://kwit.org/post/case-and-against-loving-love-actually <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKuDoTdxvb0</p> Sat, 14 Dec 2013 10:12:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown & Jen Chaney 35695 at http://kwit.org The Case For — And Against — Loving 'Love Actually' How About A Coke? Warhol Painting Up For Grabs http://kwit.org/post/how-about-coke-warhol-painting-grabs On Tuesday, artist Andy Warhol's oversized and iconic <em>Coca-Cola (3)</em> will <a href="http://www.christies.com/about/press-center/releases/pressrelease.aspx?pressreleaseid=6701">hit the auction block at Christie's</a>, and to borrow an old slogan from the company, It's The Real Thing.<p>Warhol painted the 6-foot-tall black-and-white canvas in 1962 as part of a series of four Coke bottle paintings. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 20:35:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 33824 at http://kwit.org How About A Coke? Warhol Painting Up For Grabs Why Didn't The Store Just Let Oprah Buy The $38,000 Handbag? http://kwit.org/post/why-didnt-store-just-let-oprah-buy-38000-handbag On the list of things to be outraged about at the moment, I'll admit this isn't at the top: The Swiss tourism office apologized to Oprah on Friday because she wasn't allowed to buy a $38,000 designer handbag while recently shopping in Switzerland. Poor lil' Oprah. *sad face*<p>It does make me wonder, though, can you ever be rich enough or famous enough or beautiful enough to not be racially profiled while shopping?<p>First, here's what happened. Sat, 10 Aug 2013 08:38:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 28260 at http://kwit.org Awkwardly Awaiting The Zimmerman Trial's Outcome http://kwit.org/post/awkwardly-awaiting-zimmerman-trials-outcome <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRUfzs6I4jk</p> Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:21:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 26966 at http://kwit.org Awkwardly Awaiting The Zimmerman Trial's Outcome Stuff You Might Have Missed In The Paula Deen Brouhaha http://kwit.org/post/stuff-you-might-have-missed-paula-deen-brouhaha <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu6Us7fpr00</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 22:34:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 25998 at http://kwit.org Stuff You Might Have Missed In The Paula Deen Brouhaha If This Cute Cheerios Ad Causes Drama, What Won't? http://kwit.org/post/if-cute-cheerios-ad-causes-drama-what-wont <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYofm5d5Xdw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHh0bqD78b0</p> Sat, 01 Jun 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 25049 at http://kwit.org If This Cute Cheerios Ad Causes Drama, What Won't? Easy Rawlins Is Alive, Or Is He? http://kwit.org/post/easy-rawlins-alive-or-he I've been following Easy Rawlins since reading <em>Devil in a Blue Dress </em>in the '90s. That's a lot of time to give to a character. And as I read <em>Little Green,</em> I realized that I hadn't been following Easy, the character, all these years. In the past I was more invested in other parts of the stories.<p>I had enjoyed the cases Easy solved, and the way his creator Walter Mosley laid out Los Angeles and the complicated relationship between whites, blacks and Latinos in post-World War II California. Wed, 15 May 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 24219 at http://kwit.org Easy Rawlins Is Alive, Or Is He?