John Ydstie http://kwit.org en GOP Marks Dodd-Frank's 4th Birthday With Calls For Repeal http://kwit.org/post/gop-marks-dodd-franks-4th-birthday-calls-repeal Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Four years ago today, President Obama signed a massive overhaul of the nation's financial laws, The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act. The law was a response to the Wall Street bailouts and regulatory failings that sparked the financial crisis and caused the great recession. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:28:00 +0000 John Ydstie 48780 at http://kwit.org Despite Brightening Signs, Fed Is Likely To Stay The Course http://kwit.org/post/despite-brightening-signs-fed-likely-stay-course Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Twice a year the head of the Federal Reserve is required to report to Congress on how the U.S. economy is doing, and for the last several years the people who listen in on this testimony have strained their ears for any hint of whether interest rates might be going up. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 20:21:00 +0000 John Ydstie 48432 at http://kwit.org In Press Conference, Fed Chair Keeps Things Upbeat — And Vague http://kwit.org/post/press-conference-fed-chair-keeps-things-upbeat-and-vague Transcript <p>: This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I am Robert Siegel. Federal Reserve chair Janet Yellen may have learned a lesson - don't get specific when talking about when the benchmark interest rate may go up. She made that mistake during her first news conference as Fed chief. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 21:18:00 +0000 John Ydstie 46786 at http://kwit.org Study: Climate Change Is A Growing Threat To Corn Production http://kwit.org/post/study-climate-change-growing-threat-corn-production Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And from food to fuel, corn is a major pillar of the U.S. economy. It's the country's biggest crop. One-third of all U.S. cropland is dedicated to corn. A new study says climate change and unsustainable irrigation practices are a long-term threat to U.S. corn production. The study calls on farmers, governments and businesses to cooperate to head off those negative effects. NPR's John Ydstie has more.<p>JOHN YDSTIE, BYLINE: There's no doubt extreme weather has hurt U.S. corn production in some recent years. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 09:27:00 +0000 John Ydstie 46362 at http://kwit.org In May Jobs Report, A Milestone: A Return To Pre-Recession Levels http://kwit.org/post/may-jobs-report-milestone-return-pre-recession-levels The May jobs report showed steady job creation. Payrolls expanded by 217,000, and unemployment held steady at 6.3%. And there was a milestone: The U.S. economy now has slightly more jobs than it did in December 2007, when the last recession began. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 John Ydstie 46069 at http://kwit.org May Employment Data Show U.S. Surpassed Pre-Recession Job Totals http://kwit.org/post/may-employment-data-may-reflect-record-job-growth The Labor Department released its monthly employment report on Friday. The economy added 217,000 jobs in May, and the unemployment rate was unchanged at 6.3 percent. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 09:08:00 +0000 John Ydstie 46027 at http://kwit.org New Pollution Rules Leave Utilities Frustrated, As Details Remain Up In Air http://kwit.org/post/new-pollution-rules-leave-utilities-frustrated-details-remain-air The Obama administration has proposed rules for limiting greenhouse gases, but many of the details must still be set by states, leaving utilities unsure about specifics they'll be expected to achieve. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 20:08:00 +0000 John Ydstie 45911 at http://kwit.org Lifting Ban On Crude Oil Exports Would Boost U.S. Economy http://kwit.org/post/lifting-ban-crude-oil-exports-would-boost-us-economy Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>NPR's Business News starts with something a little crude. A new study is recommending the United States end its four-decade ban on crude oil exports. The report by the energy branch of the global consulting firm IHS says ending the ban would lower gasoline prices, create jobs and boost government revenues. NPR's John Ydstie has more.<p>JOHN YDSTIE, BYLINE: The ban on crude oil exports was implemented in the 1970s, during an era of U.S. price controls and declining U.S. production. Thu, 29 May 2014 09:22:00 +0000 John Ydstie 45526 at http://kwit.org Study Questions Need For Employer Health Care Requirement http://kwit.org/post/study-questions-need-employer-health-care-requirement When the Affordable Care Act was unveiled, business groups railed against the provision that requires companies with 50 or more employees to provide health insurance for their full-time workers.<p>The Obama administration responded by pushing back the deadline for the coverage, so it hasn't yet taken effect. Wed, 28 May 2014 20:48:00 +0000 John Ydstie 45501 at http://kwit.org Study Questions Need For Employer Health Care Requirement 'Financial Times' Picks Apart Picketty, Sparking An Argument http://kwit.org/post/financial-times-picks-apart-picketty-sparking-argument Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>The feeling among the super-rich that capitalism is under siege may be heightened by the release of the book "Capital In The Twenty-First Century." It's by the French economist, Thomas Piketty. The book, which deals with growing inequality, has been a publishing phenomenon. It currently tops many non-fiction best seller lists. But late last week, The Financial Times published a story citing errors in the book and suggesting that some of its conclusions are mistaken. Tue, 27 May 2014 20:44:00 +0000 John Ydstie 45430 at http://kwit.org